Happy Labour Day, South Australia!

Today, is the 5th of October, Monday, and a public holiday too. This is probably the first day since handover that I am actually chilling out at home and not racing with time to get something done urgently. It’s Labour Day today, and I think I’m going to reward myself for all the labour in the past few months by not labouring. Lol. I’m sitting here thinking to myself, I could get used to living here. Haha.

I guess you would say
– Duh of course you would! You designed it yourself!
– It’s your first home! It’s impossible for you to not want to live there!
– You’ve just moved in, there’s no way you’re sick of it already.

I guess that’s all correct, but it is also true that many times during the entire process, I was getting sick and tired of it, ready to give up and just build a crap house, forfeit my deposit with the builder and just keep the land till I’m more ready for it, etc. I wish I could say the entire process was extremely pleasant, but the truth is, it wasn’t for me. Truth is, it was quite nightmarish, and I was convinced that I wasn’t going to complete this project.

But today, as I pottered around the house doing laundry, buying a long garden hose, cleaning out the rabbits’ new and bigger hutch, watering the gazanias, picking out caterpillars from my kale shrubs, it dawned on me that this is where I’m going to be for quite a long time. So, at the end of all the stresses and anxieties, I am starting to find that sweet aftertaste in having my own house.

Leave a Reply

