Stage 2: Timber frames and roof are up!

I can’t believe that it’s been a month since I last posted! I swear I haven’t been idle (apart from those times when I have been hooked onto superhero TV series Arrow and The Flash). In fact, I have spent a good deal of time helping out with my friend’s bathroom reno, I felt like we could almost team up to go on The Block for a bit of fun haha. I did this post a while back but haven’t had a chance to tidy and post it up :X

I guess time just flew by with the Easter long weekend holidaying, recovering from it all and battling the body’s urge to hibernate as the winter days approach.

In that month when I haven’t been blogging, things have indeed been happening with the construction:

20150402_182831
Feel free to admire my unfinished masterpiece :p Taken with my new awesome Samsung Note 4 ^_^

Timber frames up, roof’s up, even windows and bath tub are in!

I remember a while ago, when I was looking at the concrete slab without all the timber on them, I thought to myself:

Gee, you mean my kitchen is so tiny?

Can I actually fit a washing machine in there?

That room looks like it’s not going to fit much in there.

I hope I don’t get obese ever, I won’t be able to shower in that space!

I can tell you, when I was designing the house, I tried to upsize everything. In my head, I was quite excited that it’s going to be this big space that I’m going to live in. When I saw the slab, I was excited, but a bit disappointed that everything looked small.

And now? I am profoundly amazed at how skewed perspectives can be. With the timber frames up, I can see for myself without trying to imagine how big or small the rooms are going to be. And I must say, I am rather pleased! I know, the ceiling is not up yet, so it may well turn out looking smaller again, but just let me enjoy this moment for awhile ok? Don’t burst my bubble.

Got a few pictures of the internal bits of the house, I can’t wait to put them up! -feeling smug- If I’m that smart, I might even put in a couple of videos of the “house tour” in the next post haha. 🙂 Ta!

2 thoughts on “Stage 2: Timber frames and roof are up!

    • Hi Jo, haha yes according to the rough guide Rivergum gave me, Stage 2 (wall frame and roofing) happens real quick! Wonder how it’ll go with the brickies. Fingers crossed!

      Like

Leave a Reply

