BREATHE!

Do you know how it feels like to be underwater, holding your breath for a long time, and finally coming up to the surface to take a gasp of air so you don’t turn blue like the sea you are in and pass out?

That’s me metaphorically, finally resurfacing in the blogosphere after a long 2 months. The past 2 months had been pretty long for me, considering the list of events that have unfolded in my life  and my constant wish that I can finally have a breather. So, time to fill you guys in – I probably won’t list everything in one blog post, but I will attempt to write in a chronological order. 🙂

January
Since the last blog post, every aspect of my life had been utter chaos. The laboratory that I’ve been working in had to move from one location to another. We have a pretty massive lab, and a messy one too. So I spent the entire month packing things up into boxes and labelling things. Things were a rather challenging because instead of moving into an empty space, we were actually swapping lab space with another lab (and guess what, that lab had to renovate my old lab while I was in it, before they moved in), and that brought the stress to another whole new level. Adding on to that, we had equipment that are pretty sensitive (like machines with lasers, or freezers that go down to -86 degrees C instead of the domestic -20 degrees C ones) which meant we need relatively experienced movers. The bit that had almost tipped me over the point multiple times, was having to deal with somebody in that new workplace, who had never kept a single promise he made, stuffed me up every single bit of the way, just so that he could protect his own interests. In real estate terms, it was as though I had bought a new house, waiting for that irresponsible person to move out, while the people who bought my old place had the right to renovate my old house, therefore leaving me with my life in boxes and everything on the floor, pretty much stuck in limbo.

-Restraining myself from turning this post into a bitchfest-

Regardless of what had happened that month, I have emerged a better person and I am almost convinced that I am almost quite the professional mover now haha. That should prep me up for the actual move when the house is ready!

February
Before I knew it, February came. Attempting to unbox my life at work, I was also faced with the challenge of accommodating my mum and brother. Mum has always been the city girl her entire life, and have not experienced many cultural differences apart from the different races we have in Singapore. My rental place was in chaos (a story for later), and there was absolutely no way I could accommodate mum and bro at my place, so I have asked a friend for help, and he had kindly allowed them to stay at his place. In the country. Up in the hills. Where the land is so vast, and the trees are full of chirping birds. Where the koalas growl to ward of competition. Where the kangaroos visit. Where the possums scurry around. Where he kept 3 goats.

I’m just glad that she survived it all, especially when the nearest place to have a decent meal is about a 15 minutes’ drive away, while in Singapore, food is everywhere (I no lie!) Having them up there meant driving everyone down early every morning  (because there are no buses to my friend’s place) and planning our schedules perfectly so that our day can just get by. It was a relief when my housemate went away on holidays and offered his room for my family to stay in. So now it’s just my brother left, doing his undergraduate degree at University of Adelaide. I guess that makes me a single mum now. LOL.

That was also the month the beloved rabbits passed on – they had been living up in the hills at friend’s place, and got caught by foxes even when they were in their cage 😥 Brutal, those foxes are! It was also the month my house was broken into, and although I lost nothing, my housemates were unlucky enough to lose their wedding rings and quite a bit of money. Scared me enough to keep me awake for quite a number of nights. It happened to be the end of our rental contract too, and in order to return the housemates their security bond, we had to clean up the entire house even though I was still staying on. As a result of them moving out, I was also busy trying to acquire all necessary appliances and furniture to furnish the house, and finding a housemate at the same time.

Phew! That was quite a list!

What about the house??? That’s what I’m here to read about!
Okok, enough of my series of unfortunate events! Luckily for me, my mum got to witness some progress with the construction – the pouring of the slab!

20150225_18043720150225_180504

 

Pardon the awful quality of the pictures, they were taken with my almost dysfunctional phone. More updates about the construction progress in the next post!

For now, breathe, and dive back into the water again.

2 thoughts on “BREATHE!

  1. Welcome back! What a hectic few weeks for you! You know what they say, “what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger”. Onwards and upwards!

    Conslabulations and what a view you have. Looking forward to more build progress.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

